Tom Bovitz Memorial Scholarship Program

Giving Something Back

MMUA has budgeted $5,000 for its Tom Bovitz Memorial Scholarship Award program.

This program was created as a public relations tool to increase the awareness of public power and create goodwill in your city for your utility.   The scholarship fund is split into various prizes and awarded to essay contest winners who plan to attend a post-secondary educational institution.

MMUA relies on its members to forward contest information to all their local high schools - public and private.

Here’s how it works: The local governing body of the utility picks a local winner.  Every MMUA member may then enter the one local essay contest winner to the state contest.  The deadline for having utilities forward local winners to MMUA is in mid-April.  Local deadlines need to be set earlier, to allow the local governing board time to review the entries.  Many members, with necessary local political support, award their own scholarships locally to encourage participation.  The MMUA Communications/Member Services Committee will select the first, second, third and fourth place winners statewide.  MMUA will announce the winners by mid-May.

Students can find resource materials at, the American Public Power Association website, and often from the local utility.

Scholarship Contest Guidelines

Interested in participating in the MMUA Tom Bovitz Memorial Scholarship Award contest?  Click here for guidelines.

Entry Form

MMUA members sending their local contest winner on to MMUA should fill out this Entry Form and submit it along with the essay.

Hutchinson's Rube Irene Redekopp Wins 2016 Scholarship Contest

Winners were selected May 5 in the 2016 MMUA Tom Bovitz Memorial Scholarship Award program. Winners submitted essays. The theme was "Municipal Utilities: Good for all of Us." The top four finishers were:

First Place: Ruby Irene Redekopp of Hutchinson

Second Place: Katie Desautels, Alexandria

            Third Place: Abby Anderson, Rochester

            Fourth Place: Abigail Jo Madson.

The first place scholarship carries an award of $2,000, second place $1,500, third place $1,000 and fourth place $500. 


Thank You, Annual Sponsors

View all Annual Sponsors